login   |    register

Scale Modeling Sponsors

See Your Ad Here!

Takom [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEB SITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

In-Box Review
135
V2 with Meillerwager/ Hanomag
V2 Rocket with Meillerwager and HANOMAG SS100
  • move

by: Sebastian Schoof [ SCHOOF ]

This is my video review of the TAKOM V2 Rocket with the Meillerwagen and HANOMAG SS100 heavy tractor.

SUMMARY
Highs: - HIGH parts count - very nice molding and detail - Movable
Lows: - the hood/bommet of the Hanomag can`t be opened despite a engine and transmission inside - the size
Verdict: this is a very nice but very big model the detail is just amazing and i`m sure it will bring some very happy weeks of modeling.
Percentage Rating
87%
  Scale: 1:35
  Mfg. ID: 2030
  PUBLISHED: Nov 01, 2017
  NATIONALITY: Germany
NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
  THIS REVIEWER: 83.61%
  MAKER/PUBLISHER: 87.00%

About Sebastian Schoof (Schoof)
FROM: NOORD-BRABANT, NETHERLANDS

I started modeling in February 2014 because i was looking for a different hobby besides gaming and i found it. Shortly after that i started my YouTube channel "DutchModelling" which i focused on Reviews and Hangouts. I decided that i would review every single kit i could and would get my hands on...

Copyright 2017 text by Sebastian Schoof [ SCHOOF ]. All rights reserved.


Reader Reviews
Do you own this item and want to review it? You can add your review of the item here. Please read the reader review instructions before posting.


Comments

Great review thanks!
NOV 01, 2017 - 01:10 PM
Sebastian, Would make you a sugestion.... Before you start this highly technical kit do some research on the Meillerwagen and the V-2 rocket. Take a look at V2rocket.com make a good study of this site, and download the free Operation Backfire documents these documents will give you a lot of info on the Meiller and Rocket So you can indentify the parts of this rocket in a right way. With kind regards Bert
NOV 01, 2017 - 10:17 PM
Enjoyed the review of what is another kit that'll take a whole shelf on its own. Looking forward to seeing if any of the other specialized vehicles associated with the V-2 program will be offered in the future.
NOV 02, 2017 - 01:14 AM
Takom has also announced a Vidalwagen/SS100/V2 combination kit-- of course, now that I've built a scratchbuilt Vidalwagen for my Dragon V2! VR, Russ
NOV 02, 2017 - 02:47 AM
Hope they will do more of these specials Like the Steyr 105 this is the electrical heart of the V-2 Launch, and a Stratenwerth mobile crane would be very welcom. And maybe some other brands will follow this V-2 adventure. Greetings Bert
NOV 02, 2017 - 07:18 AM
Wow. With excitement and regret I watched. 10 years ago I would have snapped one of these up. So happy to see these subjects coming out.
NOV 08, 2017 - 03:57 PM
I have tried on two different computers both connected to a 30+meg cable modem. The video never loads. But that's OK I don't tend to favor video reviews anyway. They are usually just 15 to 60 minutes of "Here is the box", "Here are the sprues" and maybe a little "Here are some parts glued together." I apologize for the criticism but I find these type of videos to usually be a poor use of a modeler's time.
NOV 08, 2017 - 04:12 PM
I agree wholeheartedly with Bert here. I have this very complicated kit in the stash. Although Takom has done yeoman's work in presenting the kit, which is the best V2 set on the market right now (I've built numerous V2s and support equipment from the 1/72 scale SH kits to the 1/40 Revell kits and scratchbuilt accessories for the 1/35 Dragon kits. Takom has skimped a little on the research, and the box art is all wrong. As an example, the Meillerwagen was towed from the opposite end when in transport mode- the four wheeled dolly shown in the artwork and instructions is actually the rear of the Meillerwagen, and the whole thing was winched into place, not towed into place, with the rocket horizontal until in position. So if you want an accurate model, do some research and go to V2rocket.com or pick up one of several books on the market. VR, Russ
NOV 08, 2017 - 06:34 PM
Tip: Just hit enter to submit your reply!
   

What's Your Opinion?