login   |    register
Tasca [ MORE REVIEWS ] [ WEB SITE ] [ NEW STORIES ]

First Look Review
135
M4A3E8 Sherman (Korean War)
U.S. Medium Tank M4A3E8 Sherman 'Easy Eight' (Korean War)
  • move

by: Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]

This newest release from Tasca should be arriving in North America and Europe very soon. It's a variation from their earlier M4A3E8 WWII model. This version comes with additional details to depict a Korean War deployed tank. There are decals and marking guides for two different tank battalions both in 1951.

This kit comes with a new method of making T80 plastic tracks. They are both vinyl track segments with plastic inner treads and center-guides melded together to form one hybrid track system. Very interesting concept (see instruction photo below) and we will be looking forward to the reaction from modelers who build this kit.

As this is a preview and not a full review we will be looking for someone with Sherman street 'cred' to write up a more detailed review of this kit. So let us know if you are interested in that.

A full build review of this kit can be found Here on Armorama.

SUMMARY
We take a sneak peek at the newest Sherman from Tasca. This one is a variation of their earlier Easy Eight release based on a Korean War time-frame.
  Scale: 1:35
  Mfg. ID: 35-023
  Suggested Retail: $65
  PUBLISHED: May 12, 2011
  NATIONALITY: United States
NETWORK-WIDE AVERAGE RATINGS
  THIS REVIEWER: 89.91%
  MAKER/PUBLISHER: 92.94%

Our Thanks to Tasca!
This item was provided by them for the purpose of having it reviewed on this KitMaker Network site. If you would like your kit, book, or product reviewed, please contact us.

View This Item  |  View Vendor Homepage  |  More Reviews  

Photos
Click image to enlarge
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
About Jim Starkweather (staff_Jim)
FROM: NEW HAMPSHIRE, UNITED STATES

I started building models in 1971 when I was 6. My first model was a 1/32 P-40 Warhawk. Revell I believe. From there I moved onto the standard cars, Apollo spacecraft, and other kid orientated kits. I don't know what got me started on Armor. I must have seen a Monogram tank kit one day and said "Mom...

Copyright 2018 text by Jim Starkweather [ STAFF_JIM ]. All rights reserved.



Comments

Jim, Can I join the queue of folks offering to do the full review of this Sherman? Tom
MAY 12, 2011 - 11:02 AM
I think I'll get this just to do the tracks!! - Jeff
MAY 12, 2011 - 12:52 PM
I have one of these on order (I hope...), and it's really nice to see what's going to be in the box. I was hoping they would get away from their vynil tracks, and this does look like an interesting way to do it. Hope it works out well, not looking forward to the cleanup though. Thanks for the heads up Jim!
MAY 12, 2011 - 01:08 PM

Tom,

Sure thing. Thanks!

Jim

MAY 13, 2011 - 06:38 AM
Looks great, cannot wait to get my two that I have on order, however I do not see the spare sprockets that were mounted on the hull sides or the field telephone for the hull rear. Ian
MAY 13, 2011 - 07:19 AM
Hey Tom, Going to do a build review?
MAY 13, 2011 - 02:20 PM
I looked at the kit instructions in a hobby store and couldn't find mention of the phone box, but the drawings shows it on the back of the hull. Haven't gotten the kit yet, though. I think that TASCA chose not to model the Tokyo Depot mods, which is a shame. By the time that the demon face was applied to A Company 89th Tank Battalion tanks, there were relatively few survivors of the Tokyo Mod tanks left. Good photos are not common but Hunnicut's book has a few. Due to the placement of the spare wheel on the turret, the nickname was moved and is slightly different from the usual as presented on the kit decals. The Italeri M-32 has the same spare wheel mounting, but it isn't very well detailed. Best wishes, Grant
MAY 13, 2011 - 04:03 PM

Tom,

Sure thing. Thanks!

Jim

[/quote] Hi Jim, Does this mean I got lucky? I hope so, because I'd like to do a quick OOB build for the Korea campaign and base a build-review around that (with the usual history & accuracy stuff), since you've already done the basic sprue-recon. Tom
MAY 14, 2011 - 02:53 AM
Hi Tom, Well, since you're the only person asking and you have already done some excellent reviews, I can answer that in the affirmative. I will send it out Monday. Cheers, Jim
MAY 14, 2011 - 11:23 AM
   

What's Your Opinion?


Photos
Click image to enlarge
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move
  • move