login   |    register
Armor/AFV: Canadian Armor
Discuss all types of Canadian Armor of all eras.
Hosted by Darren Baker
Installing the Storm Resin with Tamiya Leo
Brad-M
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: June 06, 2008
KitMaker: 400 posts
Armorama: 391 posts
Posted: Friday, February 26, 2010 - 03:58 AM UTC
Gents,

Does a modeller have to remove any kit plastic for the upper resin piece or does it fit right on top of the kit surface?

TIA

Brad
sauceman
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: September 28, 2006
KitMaker: 2,672 posts
Armorama: 2,475 posts
Posted: Friday, February 26, 2010 - 05:32 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Gents,

Does a modeller have to remove any kit plastic for the upper resin piece or does it fit right on top of the kit surface?

TIA

Brad



Which piece exactly? The upper glacis armour?


cheers
Brad-M
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: June 06, 2008
KitMaker: 400 posts
Armorama: 391 posts
Posted: Friday, February 26, 2010 - 06:12 AM UTC
Hi Rick, Yes, sorry, it is the upper glacis armour piece.

Brad

jwest21
Visit this Community
Pennsylvania, United States
Joined: October 16, 2006
KitMaker: 3,353 posts
Armorama: 3,105 posts
Posted: Friday, February 26, 2010 - 08:25 AM UTC
It fits right over top of the kit. No parts need removed. Edit: you will need to extend the mirror supports a couple mm so it can rest on the resin part when in the folded-onto-the-glacis position. I have a picture at home- PM me yyour email if interested.
sauceman
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: September 28, 2006
KitMaker: 2,672 posts
Armorama: 2,475 posts
Posted: Friday, February 26, 2010 - 08:36 AM UTC
Nope, you don't have to remove anything.

The additional armour sits a little above the hull, not directly on it. And there should be a little overhang on the front.

Check out Anthony's pics in his photobucket album Anthony's pics

Are you going to put on the Barracuda cam?


cheers
Brad-M
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: June 06, 2008
KitMaker: 400 posts
Armorama: 391 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 09, 2010 - 10:48 AM UTC
Thanks All

Brad
LeoCmdr
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
Joined: January 19, 2005
KitMaker: 4,076 posts
Armorama: 3,908 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 09, 2010 - 01:24 PM UTC
Don't you have to remove the cam net poles and bracket?
sauceman
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: September 28, 2006
KitMaker: 2,672 posts
Armorama: 2,475 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 09, 2010 - 02:50 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Don't you have to remove the cam net poles and bracket?



I think they are seperate so you just don't install them.


cheers
LeoCmdr
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
Joined: January 19, 2005
KitMaker: 4,076 posts
Armorama: 3,908 posts
Posted: Tuesday, March 09, 2010 - 05:43 PM UTC

Quoted Text


Quoted Text

Don't you have to remove the cam net poles and bracket?



I think they are seperate so you just don't install them.


cheers



No worries...we're on the same page.
Brad-M
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: June 06, 2008
KitMaker: 400 posts
Armorama: 391 posts
Posted: Sunday, June 13, 2010 - 03:25 PM UTC
Another question, reference the belly plate and the escape hatch cover peice. Should it be proud of the belly peice around it, or flush?

TIA

Brad
LeoCmdr
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
Joined: January 19, 2005
KitMaker: 4,076 posts
Armorama: 3,908 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 15, 2010 - 03:09 AM UTC
It would be flush....if it stood out the edges would likely get damaged as the tank belly hit/scraped objects as it drove over them.
Brad-M
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: June 06, 2008
KitMaker: 400 posts
Armorama: 391 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 15, 2010 - 01:39 PM UTC
I was afraid of that..oh well. I already glued the main belly plate and now I have to remove the raised escape hatch for the cover to fit fluch...I should probably stick to building aircraft.

Thanks Jason
Brad
haribeau44
Visit this Community
Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Joined: August 01, 2006
KitMaker: 129 posts
Armorama: 113 posts
Posted: Tuesday, June 15, 2010 - 10:02 PM UTC
AIRCRAFT?
my dear Brad!

Why change to something much more difficult?

Harald
Firecap4
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: December 12, 2007
KitMaker: 309 posts
Armorama: 288 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 01:26 PM UTC
Speaking of the Storm Leo set, I just tried to order one to start my own Leo in the near future, and got the message they were sold out...I sent Andy an email, but in the meantime while waiting for an answer and in the interestof being proactive if he no longer has them available are there any outlets anyone knows of that has them in stock? I have struck out on a Google search except for the Storm site itself.
GaryGore
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: November 05, 2006
KitMaker: 384 posts
Armorama: 338 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 01:41 PM UTC

Quoted Text

Speaking of the Storm Leo set, I just tried to order one to start my own Leo in the near future, and got the message they were sold out...I sent Andy an email, but in the meantime while waiting for an answer and in the interestof being proactive if he no longer has them available are there any outlets anyone knows of that has them in stock? I have struck out on a Google search except for the Storm site itself.


I got the samething when I ordered a few months ago. An email to Andy and I had one on its way a few days later.
Firecap4
Visit this Community
Georgia, United States
Joined: December 12, 2007
KitMaker: 309 posts
Armorama: 288 posts
Posted: Saturday, June 19, 2010 - 01:47 PM UTC

Quoted Text


Quoted Text

Speaking of the Storm Leo set, I just tried to order one to start my own Leo in the near future, and got the message they were sold out...I sent Andy an email, but in the meantime while waiting for an answer and in the interestof being proactive if he no longer has them available are there any outlets anyone knows of that has them in stock? I have struck out on a Google search except for the Storm site itself.


I got the samething when I ordered a few months ago. An email to Andy and I had one on its way a few days later.



Cool beans,that was what I was hoping someone would tell me...thanks Gary!
Brad-M
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: June 06, 2008
KitMaker: 400 posts
Armorama: 391 posts
Posted: Monday, July 12, 2010 - 06:36 PM UTC
Gents,

I am moving onto the antenna mounts and am I seeing things in photos, is the left antenna tower base shorter than the right side one, ie: is there a riser installed on the left hand antenna tower?

TIA

Brad
sauceman
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: September 28, 2006
KitMaker: 2,672 posts
Armorama: 2,475 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 13, 2010 - 12:02 AM UTC
Looks that way. These pics show a riser on the right side tower.






cheers
Brad-M
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: June 06, 2008
KitMaker: 400 posts
Armorama: 391 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 13, 2010 - 02:05 AM UTC
Thanks Again Rick!

Brad
Intruderbass
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: October 06, 2005
KitMaker: 67 posts
Armorama: 38 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 13, 2010 - 10:15 AM UTC
It seems like on some photos there is only one side riser present, though on the others both or none at all... Thats why riser part is optional in the set.

Cheers!

Andy

PS
Rick, how is the your thermal blanket research going? Have you figured out the tamplate?
Brad-M
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: June 06, 2008
KitMaker: 400 posts
Armorama: 391 posts
Posted: Tuesday, July 13, 2010 - 02:18 PM UTC
Thanks Andy, I am really enjoying the set, the detail and quality is super!

All the best
Brad
Brad-M
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: June 06, 2008
KitMaker: 400 posts
Armorama: 391 posts
Posted: Friday, July 16, 2010 - 07:11 AM UTC
Gents,

Does anyone know who sells antenna in 1/35 scale? I was going to use either brass or plastic rod, but our anetenna like some others taper from bottom to the top so I thought I'd ask if there is a compnay that sells this them.

Thanks
Brad
LeoCmdr
Visit this Community
Alberta, Canada
Joined: January 19, 2005
KitMaker: 4,076 posts
Armorama: 3,908 posts
Posted: Friday, July 16, 2010 - 07:25 AM UTC

Quoted Text

Gents,

Does anyone know who sells antenna in 1/35 scale? I was going to use either brass or plastic rod, but our anetenna like some others taper from bottom to the top so I thought I'd ask if there is a compnay that sells this them.

Thanks
Brad




I posted this last year. I don't know if they still carry them.

http://www.network54.com/Forum/169232/thread/1235265119/Antennas
Intruderbass
Visit this Community
Ontario, Canada
Joined: October 06, 2005
KitMaker: 67 posts
Armorama: 38 posts
Posted: Friday, July 16, 2010 - 07:28 AM UTC
Brad,
there is a company who makes the brass antennas for Leo, sorry cant remember the name but there was a review of them here on Armorama I believe..

I find that streatched sprue works just great! Fast and easy to make. Pretty flexible too. You can make them whatever diameters and length you need.

Andy
Brad-M
Visit this Community
British Columbia, Canada
Joined: June 06, 2008
KitMaker: 400 posts
Armorama: 391 posts
Posted: Monday, July 19, 2010 - 09:03 AM UTC
Thanks Andy!

Brad