login   |    register
Armor/AFV
For discussions on tanks, artillery, jeeps, etc.
FEATURE
M1A2 On Patrol in Iraq
CMOT
Staff MemberEditor-in-Chief
ARMORAMA
Visit this Community
England - South West, United Kingdom
Joined: May 14, 2006
KitMaker: 10,854 posts
Armorama: 8,519 posts
Posted: Monday, April 11, 2011 - 12:04 AM UTC
Anirudh Arun shares with us his diorama of an M1A2 Abrams on patrol in an urban area of Iraq.

Link to Item

If you have comments or questions please post them here.

Thanks!
spetsnazgru
Visit this Community
Lebanon
Joined: March 05, 2009
KitMaker: 659 posts
Armorama: 650 posts
Posted: Monday, April 11, 2011 - 12:35 AM UTC
looking good, but as far as i know, only tan M1A2s were in Iraq, do you have pics of the real tank?
Shift911
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
Joined: December 17, 2007
KitMaker: 192 posts
Armorama: 185 posts
Posted: Monday, April 11, 2011 - 04:08 AM UTC
Nicely done Anirudh, I was considering doing the tan/nato combo but decided the painting was too finicky, you have done a great job with it though.



Quoted Text

looking good, but as far as i know, only tan M1A2s were in Iraq, do you have pics of the real tank?



jamal, here's a photo from Tankograd.


majjanelson
Visit this Community
South Carolina, United States
Joined: December 14, 2006
KitMaker: 1,352 posts
Armorama: 976 posts
Posted: Monday, April 11, 2011 - 04:36 AM UTC
Lucas,

Sorry, but those two pictures are of US Army M1A1s, not M1A2s. A simple indicator is the bolted cover plate on top of the turret in front of the Loader's station, which is where the CCTV "turret" is on M1A2s.

I can't tell what unit(s) these Abrams belonged to from the images, and the text doesn't appear to indicate it either.
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
Joined: May 16, 2002
KitMaker: 17,222 posts
Armorama: 13,390 posts
Posted: Monday, April 11, 2011 - 04:55 AM UTC
There are no operational M1A2s in camo in the US Army. All operational M1A2s are in overall sand. There were a few (I think 4, a PLT) of camo M1A2s at the Armor Training School to familiarize students on, but they are the only camo M1A2s in the inventory.

As Jeff says, the above pics are M1A1s w/TUSK in Iraq from B C0, 1-35 AR, 1 AR Div out of Germany. One of them is Bad Blessing, which I recently built.
Shift911
Visit this Community
New Jersey, United States
Joined: December 17, 2007
KitMaker: 192 posts
Armorama: 185 posts
Posted: Monday, April 11, 2011 - 04:58 PM UTC
Oops guess I got in the habit of looking at the gunners sight. I figure maybe I was more referencing the fact that the NATO was used in Iraq, with the sand painted Tusk, skipped my mind as to what branch or model it was specifically. Good to know though, thanks.
Anirudharun
Visit this Community
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
Joined: February 16, 2008
KitMaker: 583 posts
Armorama: 528 posts
Posted: Monday, April 11, 2011 - 08:57 PM UTC
Thanks a lot for posting the feature, Darren.

Also thanks for the comments guys. The nato camouflage scheme is, as far as I know only used on M1A2s in Germany, but I liked the scheme and the contrast with the tan TUSK pieces.
ti
Visit this Community
Dalarnas, Sweden
Joined: May 08, 2002
KitMaker: 2,203 posts
Armorama: 1,721 posts
Posted: Monday, April 11, 2011 - 09:06 PM UTC
Absolutely Fantastic!!!!!!
HeavyArty
Visit this Community
Florida, United States
Joined: May 16, 2002
KitMaker: 17,222 posts
Armorama: 13,390 posts
Posted: Monday, April 11, 2011 - 11:59 PM UTC

Quoted Text

The nato camouflage scheme is, as far as I know only used on M1A2s in Germany...



As posted above, there are no (none, zero) operational M1A2s in NATO camo. They are all Sand. 1ID and 1AD in Germany have all M1A1s, which are NATO camo.

The model looks great, but it is a shame it is painted incorrectly.
Anirudharun
Visit this Community
England - West Midlands, United Kingdom
Joined: February 16, 2008
KitMaker: 583 posts
Armorama: 528 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 12, 2011 - 12:24 AM UTC
Sorry Gino, guess it helps if I read everything correctly. Yeah it is a shame the colours are wrong but I was only able to get a hold of the M1A2 before I started so thats what I had to use. Glad you like it, but I've got to thank you for your help with the build.

Has anyone else noticed a shortage of DML M1A1s? Is it OOP?

Anirudh
spetsnazgru
Visit this Community
Lebanon
Joined: March 05, 2009
KitMaker: 659 posts
Armorama: 650 posts
Posted: Tuesday, April 12, 2011 - 04:46 AM UTC
no not really, its in stock at luckymodel and hobbyeasy